Covd-19Home Featured

Angola lifts Omicron travel bans against fellow southern African countries

ANGOLA has lifted travel bans imposed against fellow southern African countries that had recorded cases of the Omicron Covid-19 variant.

Luanda had suspended travel to and from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe, in efforts to curb entry of the new strain into its borders.

The lifting of the ban comes as leaders of those countries continue to condemn the travel bans which have been termed as being knee-jerk reactions and discriminatory.

The lifting of the travel bans was announced late on Tuesday by Angola’s Minister of State and Head of the House of Security of the President of the Republic, Francisco Furtado, during an update on the government’s response to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Angola has so far reported a total of 65,475 confirmed COVID-19 infections, with 1,737 deaths fatalities.

Jerry Omondi/CGTN

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button